Author Topic: Interesting links / posts for aspiring writers... or the BIG discussion!  (Read 8421 times)

CheeseBK

• Global Moderator
  • Beast Lord
  • rabid reader
    • my livejournal
Hello everyone...

... you might or you might not know about the BIG discussion that is still going on after a well-known publisher announced that you can now self-publish your books through them. there is a big argument, since many people think it is misleading for aspiring writers. they think they get published under a well-known brand name, when in fact, they don't get the sales channels / support of the brand name at all, although they spend money on their books being published.

also, writers that already got published through the publisher, might get mixed up with those self-published ones.... which is not benefitial for either party, in my opinion, but I don't want to add to the whole debate now, since I am not an expert on anything.

Just to give you the opportunity to read what some published authors think of this AND (thanks to Jeaniene Frost) get some links that might be interesting for aspiring writers that want to get published.

I'd also like to use this topic as a thank you base for all the already published authors who share the stories about how they had to struggle to even get published, like Ilona on her page or also Jeaniene and many others. Thank you, it is interesting, valuable info for aspiring writers AND a motivation for them, too.... since we read what awesome books you wrote... and still know that you didn't have an easy time when it came to getting published for the first time.

links:

shiloh walker: http://shilohwalker.wordpress.com/2009/11/19/heres-why-i-care/
jeaniene frost: http://frost-light.livejournal.com/113427.html
toni andrews: http://www.deadlinedames.com/?p=2130

if you find any other links that might be interesting for aspiring writers or tie into the debate, you can post them here.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2009, 08:36:03 am by CheeseBK »